Re: all incoming mail is being blocked



Too bad we cannot sue the idiots!

Gregg Hill


"cmjkeegan" <cmjkeegan@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:47CB9C8B-216D-42FB-A6F6-AFEAE7D34A6C@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
I am having a problem with SPAMBLAZE & SORBS spam lists.

My ISP is BT (British Telecom) and SORBS accidently put their entire range
of static IP addresses on the dynamic list... therefore anyone using SORBS
lists does not receive our mail.

BT have been on to them but they are being unforgivably slow, removing one
or two IPs a day when there are hundreds that THEY have incorrectly
listed.

They are just hiding behind thier website and are impossible to get any
sense out of. Does anyone know of an Internet body I can go to to
complain
about this. From what I have heard SORBS is run my a group of volunteers
from AUS, please correct me if I am wrong.

I just find it unbelievable that they could so easially block so many UK
companies from sending mail.

Thanks

Chris
--
IT & Network Coordinator


"Gregg Hill" wrote:

Apparently, a "domain grabber" listed that domain with a "wildcard DNS"
record and caused all the trouble. Don't ask...I don't know exactly what
that means.

Gregg Hill


<mdebyah@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:1136395991.015828.93860@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Whether it was right or not, "dsn.rdc-ignorant.org" has been on my RBL
list for months and months without any problem until yesterday. That
is when it started rejecting all incoming mail.


hildeb wrote:
mdebyah@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx wrote:
We are running SBS2003 Premium and hosting our own mail server.
Right
now, every incoming message is being returned as undeliverable with
a
message such as this:

Remote host said: 550 5.7.1 66.163.178.108 has been blocked by
dsn.rdc-ignorant.org


There is no dsn.rdc-ignorant.org
It's a typo!
It must be "dsn.rfc-ignorant.org" (f instead of d)

So whoever's server uses dsn.rdc-ignorant.org will REJECT ALL MAIL,
since dsn.rdc-ignorant.org has a wildcard adddres record, see:

# host foobar.de.dsn.rdc-ignorant.org
foobar.de.dsn.rdc-ignorant.org has address 64.20.43.107

# host aol.com.dsn.rdc-ignorant.org
aol.com.dsn.rdc-ignorant.org has address 66.45.225.11

I've visited the http://www.rfc-ignorant.org/ website, but I don't
really understand what is wrong.

rfc-ignorant.org != rdc-ignorant.org






.



Relevant Pages

  • Re: all incoming mail is being blocked
    ... I am having a problem with SPAMBLAZE & SORBS spam lists. ... is when it started rejecting all incoming mail. ... Remote host said: 550 5.7.1 66.163.178.108 has been blocked by ...
    (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
  • Re: all incoming mail is being blocked
    ... emergency with a server down, ... It would seem, through my conversations with BT, that SORBS have ... To BTs credit they can't do anything but ask SORBS to update thier lists, ... My ISP _and_ SORBS. ...
    (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
  • Re: all incoming mail is being blocked
    ... "and SORBS accidently put their entire range" indicates ... IMMEDIATE action to undo THEIR mistake. ... but if an anti-spam group accidentally lists legitimate ... My ISP _and_ SORBS. ...
    (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
  • Re: all incoming mail is being blocked
    ... It would seem, through my conversations with BT, that SORBS have incorrectly ... To BTs credit they can't do anything but ask SORBS to update thier lists, ... My ISP _and_ SORBS. ... So will an incorrect MX record in DNS. ...
    (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
  • Re: mx2.freebsd.org in dnsbl.sorbs.net
    ... Erik Norgaard wrote: ... > legitimate mail on the lists - I'm using postfix. ... SORBS and get the host delisted. ... Maybe somebody has an automated spam submitting system and SORBS parsed ...
    (freebsd-questions)