Re: PTR Records and hosting our own mail
From: Chester (chester_at_NOSPAMprosoundusa.com)
Date: 07/10/04
- Next message: Gary Dikkema: "Re: SBS2k3 and ISA2k4... so is ISA all SBS friendly?"
- Previous message: Chester: "Re: PTR Records and hosting our own mail"
- In reply to: Javier Gomez [SBS MVP]: "Re: PTR Records and hosting our own mail"
- Next in thread: Javier Gomez [SBS MVP]: "Re: PTR Records and hosting our own mail"
- Reply: Javier Gomez [SBS MVP]: "Re: PTR Records and hosting our own mail"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Date: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 15:07:36 -0400
And the NDR:
Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.
Subject: Test message to Tmobile
Sent: 7/10/2004 2:07 PM
The following recipient(s) could not be reached:
4342276607@tmomail.net on 7/10/2004 2:05 PM
The e-mail system was unable to deliver the message, but did not report a
specific reason. Check the address and try again. If it still fails, contact
your system administrator.
< mail.messagingengine.com #5.0.0 X-Postfix; host
boca.tmomail.net[63.122.5.251] said: 550 Message refused (in reply to end of
DATA command)>
"Javier Gomez [SBS MVP]" <javier_gomez@remove.this.engineer.com> wrote in
message news:e88ibSqZEHA.1508@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> Can you post the NDR that you get when you try to send mail to the
> problematic domains?
>
> The last section of this article deals with determining if you have the
> proper PTR records (which for prosound dot com they are only "generic").
Is
> not just having PTR records, its having them match your domain. Also
> remember there are other reasons for being blacklisted.
> http://www.sbslinks.com/DNS_Smarthost.htm
>
> From your example you would have to contact Company B for getting the
proper
> PTR record (which are the ones that "owns" the IP range).
>
> --
> Javier [SBS MVP]
>
> << SBS ROCKS !!! >>
>
> "Chester" <chester@NOSPAMprosoundusa.com> wrote in message
> news:O0UDpxpZEHA.3664@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > Hello,
> > We are hosting our own mail on our SBS2k3, and using DNS to send mail.
> (Not
> > through a SmartHost).
> >
> > However, there are several domains that have been rejecting our mail,
> > apparently using ReverseDNS, and finding that our domain (prosoundusa
dot
> > com) is not hosted at the mail server's IP address.
> >
> > We tried sending mail to those troublesome domains through a SmartHost,
> but
> > still no luck, the messages still got refused!
> >
> > To complicate matters,
> >
> > Company A hosts our domain/website,
> > Company B provides our DSL (w/static IP),
> > Company C contracts with Company B to provide mail services to the DSL
> > accounts (We don't use their mail, but POP and SMTP accounts are
> available),
> > We have a DynDns account to associate a domain name with our static IP,
> > and WE host our own mail server! Complicated enough?
> >
> > So, the question is, what can we do so that reverse DNS lookups (or
> whatever
> > these troublesome domains are using to decide to reject our mail)
resolve
> to
> > our mail server's IP or Domain name?
> >
> > Is it the PTR? If so, WHO in the above list is responsible for that
> record?
> >
> >
> > Thanks!
> >
> > Chester
> >
> >
>
>
- Next message: Gary Dikkema: "Re: SBS2k3 and ISA2k4... so is ISA all SBS friendly?"
- Previous message: Chester: "Re: PTR Records and hosting our own mail"
- In reply to: Javier Gomez [SBS MVP]: "Re: PTR Records and hosting our own mail"
- Next in thread: Javier Gomez [SBS MVP]: "Re: PTR Records and hosting our own mail"
- Reply: Javier Gomez [SBS MVP]: "Re: PTR Records and hosting our own mail"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]