Re: DNS pointing to porn site



Sounds like spyaware / virus.
Note down the porn site that is brought up.
Check on symantec mcafee etc. which virus will take to such porn sites.
Alternatively in control panel add remove programs, look for suspicious
progams (not all spayware will be listed there, but just check.)

Sharad


"GJB" <gjb@xxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:uwZiVSQIGHA.3460@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> Herb,
>
> Thank for the reply. I can rule out 1 and 2, and have spoken to the
> Manager of the DNS servers we forward to and they aren't compromised, so I
> gues it is "out there" in the wider web-world. I am surprised that there
> is nothing on the grapevine about it if that is the case.
>
> Gerry.
>
>
> "Herb Martin" <news@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
> news:%23AfWZ$PIGHA.604@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>> "GJB" <gjb@xxxxxxx> wrote in message
>> news:%23dPe0qPIGHA.648@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>>> Hi,
>>>
>>> For a day or so we have been having an intermittent problem where users
>>> attempting to access "normal" web site e.g My Ebay, Firstchoice, AOL,
>>> BBC etc have been directed to a porn site www.rug-munchers.com.
>>> Has anyone seen this or anything info related to it?
>>>
>>
>> Well, "seen it"? In a way, it means your clients are using
>> a DNS server that resolves it that way either directly or
>> indirectory (unless this is due to some local virus/trojan
>> on the clients, including a modification of the hosts files.)
>>
>> The key is to find WHERE the incorrect data is originating:
>>
>> 1) Clients
>> 2) Local DNS server
>> 3) Forwarder
>> 4) etc.
>>
>>
>> --
>> Herb Martin, MCSE, MVP
>> Accelerated MCSE
>> http://www.LearnQuick.Com
>> [phone number on web site]
>>
>>
>
>


.