Re: Is this a scam
From: Steve Cochran (scochran_at_oehelp.com)
Date: 08/17/04
- Next message: Steve Cochran: "Re: Synchronize OE Laptop/Desktop"
- Previous message: Ron Sommer: "Re: Save images in BMP"
- In reply to: DGuess: "Re: Is this a scam"
- Next in thread: DGuess: "Re: Is this a scam"
- Reply: DGuess: "Re: Is this a scam"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Date: Tue, 17 Aug 2004 07:19:28 -0400
"DGuess" <majik@mindspring.oops> wrote in message
news:uqcZ23$gEHA.1276@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> That one and all the others, No legitimate company will ask for personal
> information such as credit cards, etc thru the email.
>
> Now, if you want to have some fun, go thru the HTML content of it and find
> out the URL of the web site that the Submit button will go to (they will
use
> ebay's or whoever's real online graphics to make it look legit).
>
> Next, see if there is any scripting that will checks to see if you've
> entered all the data correctly. Remove it. Save the file and then click on
> it and fill in whatever you want. I use names like U. R. Amoron and others
> that would probably be filtered by the news server. Then I click the
submit
> button.....A lot. I had a script I added that would allow the submit
button
> to be automatically pressed (I used a for loop) and just let it run. Can't
> find it now.
>
document.all.forms(0).submit
> Ot for the ones from Nigeria that say they're trying to get X millions of
> dollars out and need your help, find a file thats about 5 meg in size,
then
> send it with a reply that they're a moron but make sure you go into Tools
|
> Accounts | Mail |<account name> | Properties | Advanced tab then check the
> box to break it apart in 60kb chunks. That way they get a whole lot emails
> before the account is closed and usually fills up their mailbox and blocks
> any real moron from replying that actually believes it.
>
Lost your 45 meg file did you? <G>
> But thats what I do when I wake up in the middle of the night and can't go
> back to sleep. That or reread Steve's emails with all the stuff he's
hacking
> thru, that will put Snow Whilte back to sleep.
>
I figured it put you back into a coma, since I hadn't heard anymore from
you. <G>
steve
>
>
>
>
>
> "The Old Timer" <notathome@optusnet.com.au> wrote in message
> news:eOttvW$gEHA.3548@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> >I have had several emails supposedly from ebay suggesting that my
customer
> > details are wrong or incomplete & I should have them updated. Since I
> > have
> > never visited ebay I assume that this is instead from someone fishing
for
> > personal details. Is this the case?
> >
> > --
> > Thanks in advance
> >
> >
>
>
- Next message: Steve Cochran: "Re: Synchronize OE Laptop/Desktop"
- Previous message: Ron Sommer: "Re: Save images in BMP"
- In reply to: DGuess: "Re: Is this a scam"
- Next in thread: DGuess: "Re: Is this a scam"
- Reply: DGuess: "Re: Is this a scam"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]