Re: Is this a scam

From: DGuess (majik_at_mindspring.oops)
Date: 08/17/04


Date: Mon, 16 Aug 2004 21:00:51 -0500

That one and all the others, No legitimate company will ask for personal
information such as credit cards, etc thru the email.

Now, if you want to have some fun, go thru the HTML content of it and find
out the URL of the web site that the Submit button will go to (they will use
ebay's or whoever's real online graphics to make it look legit).

Next, see if there is any scripting that will checks to see if you've
entered all the data correctly. Remove it. Save the file and then click on
it and fill in whatever you want. I use names like U. R. Amoron and others
that would probably be filtered by the news server. Then I click the submit
button.....A lot. I had a script I added that would allow the submit button
to be automatically pressed (I used a for loop) and just let it run. Can't
find it now.

Ot for the ones from Nigeria that say they're trying to get X millions of
dollars out and need your help, find a file thats about 5 meg in size, then
send it with a reply that they're a moron but make sure you go into Tools |
Accounts | Mail |<account name> | Properties | Advanced tab then check the
box to break it apart in 60kb chunks. That way they get a whole lot emails
before the account is closed and usually fills up their mailbox and blocks
any real moron from replying that actually believes it.

But thats what I do when I wake up in the middle of the night and can't go
back to sleep. That or reread Steve's emails with all the stuff he's hacking
thru, that will put Snow Whilte back to sleep.

"The Old Timer" <notathome@optusnet.com.au> wrote in message
news:eOttvW$gEHA.3548@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>I have had several emails supposedly from ebay suggesting that my customer
> details are wrong or incomplete & I should have them updated. Since I
> have
> never visited ebay I assume that this is instead from someone fishing for
> personal details. Is this the case?
>
> --
> Thanks in advance
>
>