Help please. Outlook express or comcast is creating misleading mail headers
xx
Date: 04/29/04
- Next message: Bruce Hagen: "Re: Message Rules-OE6"
- Previous message: Jim Pickering: "Re: Monitors and Resolution"
- Next in thread: PA Bear: "Re: Help please. Outlook express or comcast is creating misleading mail headers"
- Reply: PA Bear: "Re: Help please. Outlook express or comcast is creating misleading mail headers"
- Reply: N. Miller: "Re: Help please. Outlook express or comcast is creating misleading mail headers"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Date: Thu, 29 Apr 2004 12:57:52 -0400
I can't use outlook express to send email anymore because my emails
are all blocked as spam by a few ISPs because my person IP address
dynamically received from comcast is on a list of blocked IP addresses.
(most people get my email fine - so far I know of two ISPs that reject my
email)
The solution is supposedly to use comcasts mail host. However I *am*
using comcasts mailhost. Looking at the mail header carefully, it looks
like I am
a mail host but I'm not. I'm just using comcast with the mail host
being a comcast mailhost. However, the spam filter is clearly blocking
on the ip address for my machine, comcasts smtp machine ip is okay. Here
is the offending part of my mail header:
(The actual address that the spam filters are whining about is 24.91.21.158
which is in the address block 24.91.16.xx through 24.91.36.xx)
BAD - doesn't get through spam filters (sent through comcast)
Received: from upstairs (h002078d247fe.ne.client2.attbi.com[24.91.21.158])
by comcast.net (sccrmhc11) with SMTP id
<2004042915055001100mob1je>; Thu, 29 Apr 2004 15:05:50 +0000
GOOD - does get through spam filters (sent through mailblocks.com)
Received: from 24.91.21.158 by app2.mailblocks.com (192.168.225.51) with
HTTP (Mailblocks); Thu, 29 Apr 2004 08:06:59 -0700
My question: Is this something related to outlook express 6.0 (which is
what
I used)?
Is there a way to configure outlook express so the mail header looks
different and isn't blocked by
spammers? Why don't my neighbors have this problem (some of them must!)?
sorbs.com has this address listed (24.91.21.158) and their solution is for
me to stop being
a mail relay. I'm not a mail relay! Really. I just put comcasts smtp
server in the appropriate
box in outlook express setup and use port 25.
Please reply to this list with similar subject line - don't email me.
- George Roberts
- Next message: Bruce Hagen: "Re: Message Rules-OE6"
- Previous message: Jim Pickering: "Re: Monitors and Resolution"
- Next in thread: PA Bear: "Re: Help please. Outlook express or comcast is creating misleading mail headers"
- Reply: PA Bear: "Re: Help please. Outlook express or comcast is creating misleading mail headers"
- Reply: N. Miller: "Re: Help please. Outlook express or comcast is creating misleading mail headers"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Relevant Pages
|