Re: windows onecare update
- From: Chuck <skilover_nospam@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Fri, 26 May 2006 15:50:05 GMT
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1
Keith Willcocks wrote:
"Chuck" <skilover_nospam@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:CWEdg.1224$U_2.1027@xxxxxxxxxxx
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1
Today a browser window popped up by itself taking me to a
www.windowsonecare.com web site. The site purports to be run by
Microsoft and wants to install antivirus/antispyware updates. It also
wants wants me to sign in. If I click on the sign in button, I get
warned that there's a problem with the site's certificate. This all
sounds very suspicious. Is it legitimate? I'm leery about providing any
credentials to a site that pops up on it's own and then my browser tells
me the site's certificate was issued by an untrusted authority.
If you go to Microsoft's home page and search for Onecare you are given the
site you refer to. I believe it is their new all singing all dancing Anti
Virus, Firewall and anti-spy package in competition with Norton et al.
So why does MS use a certificate with an untrusted issuer/signer?
CN = Microsoft Secure Server Authority
DC = redmond
DC = corp
DC = microsoft
DC = com
Is it because I use FireFox and need to mark this is a trusted signer?
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.0 (MingW32)
iEYEARECAAYFAkR3I6wACgkQzIf+rZpn0oRR9QCgg/qWy7z2m4tGtHGY1GSelBwt
/xUAn2gwbOO7AyVIlaZwS+2EsNYlj/2z
=tTP4
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: windows onecare update
- From: Keith Willcocks
- Re: windows onecare update
- References:
- windows onecare update
- From: Chuck
- Re: windows onecare update
- From: Keith Willcocks
- windows onecare update
- Prev by Date: Re: Comparing files in sub-directories
- Next by Date: Re: Lost CD-Key for Media Center Extender
- Previous by thread: Re: windows onecare update
- Next by thread: Re: windows onecare update
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|