Message ostensibly from Microsoft
- From: Doc Jones <DocJones@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Thu, 9 Jun 2005 01:38:02 -0700
I recently received a message, ostensibly from Microsoft, which directed me
to go to the following domain and install a change to my copy of Windows:
http://oca.microsoft.com
However, I have never even *heard* of this domain. In today's phishing
environment, I am reluctant, to put it mildly, to get such high-sensitivity
information from what may or may not be an authentic source. Microsoft does
itself a disservice by using a domain which people do not recognize. Why not
just use www.microsoft.com, if I may ask?
Thomas L. Jones, Ph.D., Computer Science
DrJonesrqxnospam8y@xxxxxxxxxxxx
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: Message ostensibly from Microsoft
- From: Stan Brown
- Re: Message ostensibly from Microsoft
- From: kurttrail
- Re: Message ostensibly from Microsoft
- From: Mike Brannigan [MSFT]
- RE: Message ostensibly from Microsoft
- From: steve
- Re: Message ostensibly from Microsoft
- Prev by Date: Re: Novice user/Sound Card Troubles
- Next by Date: Re: My Microphone seems to be on perminately. Want to turn if off.
- Previous by thread: Slow connection
- Next by thread: RE: Message ostensibly from Microsoft
- Index(es):