Re: Is this REALLY a secure site?
From: TDP (topdog69_at_nospam.btopenworld.com)
Date: 01/11/05
- Next message: Alias: "Re: Pirated XP"
- Previous message: RitchieJHicks: "RE: System Continuously Restarts"
- In reply to: Angelfood MacSpade: "Is this REALLY a secure site?"
- Next in thread: B Smith: "Re: Is this REALLY a secure site?"
- Reply: B Smith: "Re: Is this REALLY a secure site?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Date: Tue, 11 Jan 2005 16:24:45 +0000 (UTC)
Hope this info helps I use it if in doubt about a website's security:
To verify genuine websites do this: type this in the address bar while on
the website in question:
javascript:alert("actual URL address:" + "//" + location.hostname + "//");
press enter: the true address of the website will be shown in the dialog box
that appears.
Regards TDP.
"Angelfood MacSpade" <angelfood_macspade@hotmailNOSPAM.com> wrote in message
news:65p7u01d95fk45uorb851soml2osakc6lo@4ax.com...
> I am required to enter my bank information in order to withdraw funds
> from an online sportsbook betting site. On that withdraw page (there's
> no direct URL), there's the usual statement that the site is 100%
> secure and that all information submitted is encrypted through SSL
> Encryption. And there's a clickable logo for VeriSign. But that's all
> there is - there is no security symbol in the status bar of IE and
> clicking there shows the following information "This type of document
> does not have a security certificate".
>
> So how do I know if I'm dealing with a secure site or not? I'm still
> waiting for a response from the company. Thanks.
>
- Next message: Alias: "Re: Pirated XP"
- Previous message: RitchieJHicks: "RE: System Continuously Restarts"
- In reply to: Angelfood MacSpade: "Is this REALLY a secure site?"
- Next in thread: B Smith: "Re: Is this REALLY a secure site?"
- Reply: B Smith: "Re: Is this REALLY a secure site?"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Relevant Pages
|