Hotmail blacklist



Hello!

I am a database developer masquerading temporarily as a Network
Administrator (so much of this is foreign to me), and we are having a
problem sending to any hotmail address. When I run a dns report for
our domain I get the following warnings:

--------------------------------
WARN Mail server host name in greeting WARNING: One or more of your
mailservers is claiming to be a host other than what it really is (the
SMTP greeting should be a 3-digit code, followed by a space or a dash,
then the host name). If your mailserver sends out E-mail using this
domain in its EHLO or HELO, your E-mail might get blocked by anti-spam
software. This is also a technical violation of RFC821 4.3 (and
RFC2821 4.3.1). Note that the hostname given in the SMTP greeting
should have an A record pointing back to the same server. Note that
this one test may use a cached DNS record.

MAIL.mydomain.com claims to be non-existent host red-
spam.mydomain.com: <br /> 220 red-spam.mydomain.com ESMTP
(1b47039eafa7b23fda6057f9afd2de1e) <br />

WARN Acceptance of abuse address WARNING: One or more of your
mailservers does not accept mail to abuse@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Mailservers
are expected by RFC2142 to accept mail to abuse.

MAIL.mydomain.com's abuse response:<br /> >>> RCPT
TO:<abuse@xxxxxxxxxxxx><br /> <<< 550 <abuse@xxxxxxxxxxxx>: Recipient
address rejected: 5.1.1 User unknown <br />

WARN SPF record Your domain does not have an SPF record. This means
that spammers can easily send out E-mail that looks like it came from
your domain, which can make your domain look bad (if the recipient
thinks you really sent it), and can cost you money (when people
complain to you, rather than the spammer). You may want to add an SPF
record ASAP, as 01 Oct 2004 was the target date for domains to have
SPF records in place (Hotmail, for example, started checking SPF
records on 01 Oct 2004).

--------------------------------------------------------

I believe that these warnings may be the cause of our blacklisting
from hotmail, because one of the return messages gave a warning about
'bogus helo'.

I did notice that when I view the properties of our default SMTP
Virtual Server (Exchange) the FQDN is mail.mydomain.com, but when I
view the current sessions the user listed is 'red-spam.mydomain.com'
are these supposed to be the same?

Dawn
.



Relevant Pages

  • RE: message did not reach some or all
    ... When I enter the domain on DNS Stuff I get this warning ... WARNING: One or more of your mailservers is claiming to be a host other than ...
    (microsoft.public.exchange.admin)
  • Sendmail Greeting
    ... WARNING: One or more of your mailservers is claiming to be a host other than ... may use a cached DNS record. ...
    (comp.mail.sendmail)
  • Re: Exchange, unable to relay
    ... The IPs of all of your mail serverhave reverse DNS (PTR) ... One or more of your mailservers is claiming to be a host ... Your domain does not have an SPF record. ...
    (microsoft.public.exchange2000.general)
  • Re: Exchange, unable to relay
    ... The IPs of all of your mail serverhave reverse DNS (PTR) ... One or more of your mailservers is claiming to be a host other ... Your domain does not have an SPF record. ...
    (microsoft.public.exchange2000.general)
  • SSH hostkey authentication and users known_hosts files
    ... Warning: Permanently added the RSA host key for IP address ... Moreover, if the admin actually puts a new host in place, ... ::': proud Debian developer, admin, user, and author ...
    (Debian-User)