Re: blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- From: "Peter Lawton" <devnull@fakedomain>
- Date: Mon, 20 Nov 2006 14:26:59 -0000
That's the trade off with any spam filtering of course, if you get 1,000,000
email messages a year of which 700,000 are spam and 300,000 are legitimate
you're never going to block all 700,000 spams with 0 false positives.
You need to tune your spam filtering to suit your particular needs, if you
can't afford to block a single legitimate email message then you're probably
not going to be able to block much spam either.
Peter Lawton
"Andy David - MVP" <adavid@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:er73m2du7d6fgrg1c5k5trbl96e6ahlnsj@xxxxxxxxxx
On Mon, 20 Nov 2006 13:22:06 +1030, "Antonin"
<Antonin.Koudelka@xxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Thanks Rich,
I disabled the SORBS in the RBL list.
To put exceptions for hotmail as IP addresses is difficult as they use lot
of servers and changing them as well.
Before I started to use RBL I got so much spam that it was hard to find
legitimate mail amongst it.
And with RBLs, you are now dropping legitmate mail! :)
Antonin
"Rich Matheisen [MVP]" <richnews@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:eg22m259d193pgjmsfaorpgbjt8jmhc3vs@xxxxxxxxxx
"Antonin" <Antonin.Koudelka@xxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Is there anything I can do to get email from a hotmail account without
completely disabling the "Block List Server Configuration" in the
"Message
Delivery"?
When the hotmail account tries to send me an email it gets reply:
Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.
Subject: From Boris
Sent: 11/11/2006 9:34 AM
The following recipient(s) could not be reached:
antonin@xxxxxxxxxxx on 11/11/2006 9:35 AM
You do not have permission to send to this recipient. For assistance,
contact your system administrator.
<bay0-omc2-s27.bay0.hotmail.com #5.7.1 smtp;550 5.7.1 65.54.246.163 has
been
blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net>
You can stop using SORBS. You can stop using SORBS combined DNS RBL
and start using the individual RBLs that suit your taste. You can
start white listing IP addresses. You can ue a spam filter instead of
relying on the absolute YES/NO rigidity of DNS RBLs.
As for SORBS, they've always had a policy that punishes the innocent.
Cough up fifty buck so get off the list. Like Hotmail's gonna do that
(or any ISP)!
Spam Database
Listing is manual and is performed when any spam is received at a
SORBS spamtrap. SORBS spamtraps include, but are not limited to, the
private email addresses of the SORBS admins. On occasion, when a
particular network is seen to be spamming and the listing of a single
IP address seems to have no effect, increasingly larger sections of
the netblock will be listed. If spamming continues, the size of the
listing will be slowly expanded (depending on the number of spams
received) until something is done about the spammer.
Delisting. If the size of the listing is anything more than a single
IP address, delisting can only take place when the spammer is no
longer using the address space, in which case the size of the listing
will be reduced down to the originally spamming IP addresses free of
charge. The affected IPs (the ones used to send the spam) will only be
delisted when US$50 is donated to a SORBS nominated charity or good
cause. The charities and good causes SORBS approves will not have any
connection with any member of the SORBS administrators, either past or
present.
--
Rich Matheisen
MCSE+I, Exchange MVP
MS Exchange FAQ at http://www.swinc.com/resource/exch_faq.htm
Don't send mail to this address mailto:h.pott@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Or to these, either: mailto:h.pott@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
mailto:melvin.mcphucknuckle@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
mailto:melvin.mcphucknuckle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- From: Rich Matheisen [MVP]
- Re: blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- From: Andy David - MVP
- Re: blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- References:
- blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- From: Antonin
- Re: blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- From: Rich Matheisen [MVP]
- Re: blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- From: Antonin
- Re: blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- From: Andy David - MVP
- blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- Prev by Date: Re: OWA Stopped Working...
- Next by Date: Re: Exchange 5.5 Disaster assistance
- Previous by thread: Re: blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- Next by thread: Re: blocked by dnsbl.sorbs.net
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|