Re: SMTP 554 error on one domain only?
- From: Eric <Eric@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Tue, 26 Sep 2006 08:55:02 -0700
Thanks for the help. I will check with the ISP on the SORBS list.
I did try the telnet thing last week while at the office. I got connected
OK but when I did the 'mail to' step it failed with a 554 error. I did not
do the 'helo' step though.
Thanks again for the help.
"Ben Winzenz [Exchange MVP]" wrote:
Ask them if they are using SORBS as a blocklist (RBL). SORBS has the.
netblock you are part of listed as one that is part of a dynamic IP range.
This is something that you need to contact your ISP about. You personally
won't be able to get SORBS to de-list you, but your ISP may be able to work
with them to show them that netblock is no longer part of a dynamic range.
Also, please try and send a message to them via a manual telnet session and
see where exactly it fails.
These are the commands you would type:
telnet mail.extrudedmetals.com 25 (wait for banner response)
helo lakeland-electric.com (wait for response)
mail from: <your e-mail address> (wait for response)
rcpt to: <their e-mail address> (wait for response)
data (wait for response)
subject: whatever subject you want
enter text for message body here
..
(wait for response indicating message has been accepted for delivery)
If at any point during the manual telnet you receive a 500-level error,
please indicate at what point that is.
--
Ben Winzenz
Exchange MVP
MessageOne
Read my blog!
http://winzenz.blogspot.com
http://feeds.feedburner.com/winzenz (RSS Feed)
"Eric" <Eric@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:961B81C2-7BC5-48CC-A9AD-50A98337078D@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Our domain is lakeland-electric.com and the domain that we are having
problems sending to is extrudedmetals.com. I have talked with their IT
support and they say they are not blocking us or filtering anything. I
don't
think we are on any blacklists but is there an easy way to verify this??
It
is strange that it happens with only this domain, we send hundreds of
emails
a day.
Thanks for any more advice.
"Ben Winzenz [Exchange MVP]" wrote:
What is the domain you are trying to send to, and what is your domain
name?
It sounds like they may be blocking you.
Have you checked to see if you are listed on any RBL's? Have you checked
with them to see what sorts of filtering they are doing?
--
Ben Winzenz
Exchange MVP
MessageOne
Read my blog!
http://winzenz.blogspot.com
http://feeds.feedburner.com/winzenz (RSS Feed)
"Eric" <Eric@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:A1A88CBA-811D-4F1F-8236-5160F827394D@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
We are running SBS2003 and also have exchange running on it. We have a
static IP and someone else hosts our MX record. There is one domain we
cannot send mail to, we have tried different users in the domain and it
makes
no difference. We get the error retruned to use almost immediately.
The
error is: There was a SMTP communication problem with the reciepients
server. <our.servername.com #5.5.0 smtp;554 Transaction failed> I'm
not
sure
what is going on this only happens on one domain.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: SMTP 554 error on one domain only?
- From: Ben Winzenz [Exchange MVP]
- Re: SMTP 554 error on one domain only?
- References:
- Re: SMTP 554 error on one domain only?
- From: Ben Winzenz [Exchange MVP]
- Re: SMTP 554 error on one domain only?
- From: Ben Winzenz [Exchange MVP]
- Re: SMTP 554 error on one domain only?
- Prev by Date: Re: exchange 2003 and global catalog server issue
- Next by Date: Re: Can not uninstall exchange 2003
- Previous by thread: Re: SMTP 554 error on one domain only?
- Next by thread: Re: SMTP 554 error on one domain only?
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|