Re: server rejects messages

Tech-Archive recommends: Fix windows errors by optimizing your registry



OK Here goes then

SMTP log messages:

212.150.49.72, mtain1.barak.net.il, 8/20/2006, 22:45:18, SMTPSVC1, HEVRON,
10.1.1.1, 0, 36, 39, 250, 0, MAIL, -, FROM:<tik@xxxxxxxx>,

212.150.49.72, mtain1.barak.net.il, 8/20/2006, 22:45:18, SMTPSVC1, HEVRON,
10.1.1.1, 0, 82, 0, 250, 0, RCPT, -, TO:<no-spam@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>,

212.150.49.75, mtain4.barak.net.il, 8/20/2006, 22:45:18, SMTPSVC1, HEVRON,
10.1.1.1, 453, 1092, 123, 250, 0, DATA, -,
<20060820.154332.3088.2.tik@xxxxxxxx>,

212.150.49.75, mtain4.barak.net.il, 8/20/2006, 22:45:18, SMTPSVC1, HEVRON,
10.1.1.1, 0, 4, 67, 240, 547, QUIT, -, mtain4.barak.net.il,

212.150.49.72, mtain1.barak.net.il, 8/20/2006, 22:45:35, SMTPSVC1, HEVRON,
10.1.1.1, 16609, 1138, 101, 240, 16672, QUIT, -, mtain1.barak.net.il,



Rejection message:

From: Internet Mail Delivery postmaster@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

To: tik@xxxxxxxx

Date: Sun, 20 Aug 2006 22:45:35 +0300 (IDT)

Subject: Delivery Notification: Delivery has failed

Message-ID: 0J4B00E64AVZ1Y00@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



This report relates to a message you sent with the following header fields:

Message-id: 20060820.154332.3088.1.tik@xxxxxxxx

Date: Sun, 20 Aug 2006 15:43:19 -0400

From: Tik tik@xxxxxxxx

To: no-spam@xxxxxxxxxxx



Your message cannot be delivered to the following recipients:

Recipient address: @hevron.biconix.com:no-spam@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Original address: no-spam@xxxxxxxxxxx

Reason: SMTP transmission failure has occurred

Diagnostic code: smtp;550 5.7.1 Requested action not taken: message refused

Remote system: dns;hevron.biconix.com

(TCP|10.11.1.11|35053|62.90.12.234|25)



FYI barak is my ISP. all my incoming mail passes thru them and they only
forward mail with predefined addresses. in this case it is my valid address
which i have obfuscated

Thanks for your help


"Ben Winzenz [Exchange MVP]" <ben_winzenz@nospamdotmessageonedotcom> wrote
in message news:eI$$GYS0GHA.4016@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Unless you are posting from somewhere else (or from the web), your domain
is revealed in the NNTP message headers.

In general, the type of folks that will DOS you aren't the ones that
frequent these newsgroups. It is common knowledge that one usually
shouldn't post a full e-mail address inside of a message, but I've never
heard of someone being DOS'd from posting a domain name in the newsgroups.

Your choice, but I'm saying that when you obfuscate domain information, it
makes it next to impossible to help you.

You can always open up a support case with Microsoft...

--
Ben Winzenz
Exchange MVP
MessageOne
Read my blog!
http://winzenz.blogspot.com
http://feeds.feedburner.com/winzenz (RSS Feed)


"MR" <comconix@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:O7FPzzR0GHA.3656@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

it appears that the records do appear in the SMTP log. so it looks like
there is a connections being made.
i am hesitating to place the domain info in a public place, i have had
denial of service attacks in the past and would rather not post the
information publicly. is there some other way that i can send you the
info?
thanks


"Ben Winzenz [Exchange MVP]" <ben_winzenz@nospamdotmessageonedotcom>
wrote in message news:%23WOq9rR0GHA.1252@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
You need to make sure that you have SMTP Protocol logging enabled
(properties of the SMTP Virtual Server). With that on, you can look
through the logs and see if that remote system is even making a
connection to your server, or if it is being kicked back somewhere else.

The other thing you might try doing is letting us know what the actual
domain names are. When you mask everything with domainxx.com, it makes
it very hard to troubleshoot what is going on.

--
Ben Winzenz
Exchange MVP
MessageOne
Read my blog!
http://winzenz.blogspot.com
http://feeds.feedburner.com/winzenz (RSS Feed)


"MR" <comconix@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
news:eQoBqPR0GHA.4044@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Some of our clients have been complaining that email they send to us
keeps bouncing back to with the following error message:

Recipient address: @Server.domainxx.com:User@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Original address: User@xxxxxxxxxxxx
Reason: SMTP transmission failure has occurred
Diagnostic code: smtp;550 5.7.1 Requested action not taken: message
refused
Remote system: dns;Server.domainxx.com
(TCP|10.11.1.11|65002|62.190.112.34|25)


It is fairly consistent that some clients cannot send us ANY mail, it
all gets bounced back at them. we can't figure out why or where the
messages are being rejected. we are not filtering any senders or
recipients (except we do "Filter recipients who are not in the
Directory".)
Is there a way to specify which domains or users are valid senders?
(not all the senders have fixed IP addresses.)
is there a way to figure out where the problem is occurring?

Our configuration is Exchange 2003 with SP2 (Version: 6.5.7638.1) on
windows 2003 Enterprise Server
we have installed the Intelligent message filtering on the Exchange
Server with the Blocking threshold set at 6 and the move threshold set
at 4. we have tried to relax the blocking threshold but that did not
help (but it did allow more SPAM thru).

thanks for your help
m









.



Relevant Pages

  • Re: NDR delivery delayed errors keep coming, any advice?
    ... still doing SMTP delivery from my server. ... When I look at the queue right now my SmallBusiness SMTP connector has ... The ISP will deliver when it gets around ... Generally, your ISPs mail server may be more 'trusted' than yours, so ...
    (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
  • Re: "SMTP instance FQDN does not match DNS resolved server name"
    ... Then the DNS server returns the ... After checking the SMTP log, I found the error 550 was received. ... add the correct PTR record for your mail server. ...
    (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
  • Re: server rejects messages
    ... portion of the smtp log, please make sure that you copy/paste the entire ... That being said, if this is the smtp log from your Exchange server, I see ... Is there a way to specify which domains or users are valid senders? ...
    (microsoft.public.exchange.admin)
  • Re: server rejects messages
    ... i was able to use the SMTP logs to find a message that was rejected. ... Apparently the server does see the message and it is rejected "SMTP: ... Message rejected by Intelligent Message Filtering". ... That being said, if this is the smtp log from your Exchange server, I ...
    (microsoft.public.exchange.admin)
  • Re: server rejects messages
    ... i was able to use the SMTP logs to find a message that was rejected. ... using the message ID from the rejection message i was able to track the ... Apparently the server does see the message and it is rejected "SMTP: ... That being said, if this is the smtp log from your Exchange server, I ...
    (microsoft.public.exchange.admin)