Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- From: ColinCamp <ColinCamp@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Sat, 7 Jan 2006 17:54:02 -0800
Andy-
I turned on diagnostic logging for the msexchange transport,
and enable smtp logging but it does not update my log file.
\\winnt\system32\logfiles
I'm running out of options to try . This doesn't make sense-
it almost seems as though my exchange server and the bellsouth server
dont' want to talk to each other-
colin
--
Colin Camp
"andy webb" wrote:
> You'd have to look at the SMTP logs to know for sure what server was handing
> back the message.
>
> "ColinCamp" <ColinCamp@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
> news:0EA25CB8-6067-4099-85C4-C20A75E67AC9@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> > Andy-
> >
> > Appreciate your input -
> > I checked out what you said but it does not seem to be the case. I don't
> > believe
> > we have a dns issue here and it is attemping to send to the bellsouth.net
> > account.
> > This has nothing to do with a mx record. Like i said, i can send email
> > to
> > any other domain but this one ( bellsouth.net) - this applies for any
> > user
> > that has a bellsouth account (i've tested at least ten). I can remote
> > in
> > to many other of my exchange servers I manage around the state and no
> > problem
> > sending to bellsouth.net accounts.
> >
> > they all have pix 501 / 506e firewall and use the same configuration.
> >
> > here is the exact message (excluding the username) that comes back when i
> > send (it comes back undeliverable in a matter of 3 - 5 seconds after
> > pressing
> > send :
> >
> > userid@xxxxxxxxxxxxx on 1/7/2006 6:00 PM
> > The e-mail account does not exist at the organization this message was
> > sent to. Check the e-mail address, or contact the recipient directly to
> > find
> > out the correct address.
> > <server.sgp.local #5.1.1>
> >
> > my question is : is this coming back from my Internet provider whereby
> > they can't / won't send mail to bellsouth.net / or - is my exchange
> > server
> > just not
> > seeing this domain as vaild - if so- what diagnostics can i run to see
> > why
> > this is happening ,
> >
> > thx
> >
> > --
> > Colin Camp
> >
> >
> > "andy webb" wrote:
> >
> >> Right, which means you're probalby sending to the wrong bellsouth server,
> >> which happens when the EDNS queries get invalid information.
> >>
> >> If you look in your logs at what IP address you're sending to, you'll
> >> find
> >> that it's not one of the valid MX hosts for bellsouth.net. That's my
> >> guess
> >> anyhow.
> >>
> >> Give one or the other solutions a try and see what happens after you
> >> flush
> >> your DNS cache on Exchange and your DNS servers.
> >>
> >> "ColinCamp" <ColinCamp@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
> >> news:69DC46F4-CEEE-4CC9-B45D-C6AF7265383D@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> >> > Andy-
> >> >
> >> > There is no dns fixup command for the pix. Like i said, i can send to
> >> > everyone (any domain, except this bellsouth.net) - I know for sure
> >> > many
> >> > users that have bellsouth.net accounts and have no problem sending from
> >> > exchange servers
> >> > that I have setup in other offices. its' only this one server that is
> >> > having
> >> > issues .
> >> >
> >> > I do have a Reverse DNS entry pointing back to my servers' IP because
> >> > domains such as AOL , Earthlink require you have one.
> >> >
> >> > thx.
> >> > --
> >> > Colin Camp
> >> >
> >> >
> >> > "andy webb" wrote:
> >> >
> >> >> The issue is most likely the DNS fixup causing you to get bad DNS
> >> >> results.
> >> >>
> >> >> http://cameron-webb.com/blog/archive/2003/11/13/159.aspx
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >> "ColinCamp" <ColinCamp@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote in message
> >> >> news:9704382E-77BD-47B3-9D5D-AD7F510CB160@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> >> >> > Good morning-
> >> >> > Am using exchange 2000 service pack 3 w/ pix firewall . I do not
> >> >> > have
> >> >> > fixup
> >> >> > protocol 25 smtp enabled on my pix. I can send to any domain
> >> >> > without
> >> >> > any
> >> >> > NDRs,
> >> >> > except when i send to recipients @bellsouth.net.
> >> >> >
> >> >> > I've sent several emails to users with this domain using my office
> >> >> > computer
> >> >> > and other exchange servers without a glitch ; however when i send
> >> >> > either
> >> >> > directly from this exchange server (owa) or even a outlook client -
> >> >> > it
> >> >> > comes
> >> >> > back with the following :
> >> >> >
> >> >> > The e-mail account does not exist at the organization this message
> >> >> > was
> >> >> > sent
> >> >> > to. Check the e-mail address, or contact the recipient directly to
> >> >> > find
> >> >> > out
> >> >> > the correct address.
> >> >> > SERVER.SGP.local #5.1.1>
> >> >> >
> >> >> >
> >> >> > I looked at microsoft article # 284204
> >> >> > Numeric Code: 5.1.1
> >> >> >
> >> >> > Possible Cause:. The e-mail account does not exist at the
> >> >> > organization
> >> >> > the
> >> >> > message was sent to. This issue may occur if there was a problem
> >> >> > when
> >> >> > users
> >> >> > were moved between sites. For example, if a former
> >> >> > Administrative_Group_1
> >> >> > user moves to Administrative_Group_2 and then replies to an old
> >> >> > message, or if the user does not re-create his or her Outlook
> >> >> > profile,
> >> >> > an
> >> >> > old
> >> >> > Administrative Group style LegDN address will be used, and an NDR is
> >> >> > generated.
> >> >> > . The message was sent to obsolete personal address book entries.
> >> >> > . The categorizer rejected delivery because you configured your SMTP
> >> >> > contact
> >> >> > with see comment SMTP RFC821 characters.
> >> >> >
> >> >> > - but no help. like i said, it only comes back when sending to
> >> >> > the
> >> >> > bellsouth.net accounts.
> >> >> >
> >> >> > thanks for any assistance on this ,
> >> >> >
> >> >> >
> >> >> > --
> >> >> > Colin Camp
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
>
>
>
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- From: andy webb
- Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- References:
- Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- From: andy webb
- Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- From: ColinCamp
- Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- From: andy webb
- Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- From: ColinCamp
- Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- From: andy webb
- Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- Prev by Date: Re: Can you force a disclaimer to be put in emails
- Next by Date: Re: user account disabled. need to redirect his e-mail
- Previous by thread: Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- Next by thread: Re: Non-delivery from 1 domain
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|