Re: 550 5.7.1 Error
From: Fred (hush_at_dontspamme.com)
Date: 08/04/04
- Next message: Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]: "Re: Email time off one hour"
- Previous message: Mark Arnold [MVP]: "Re: Disabling Outlook ----"
- In reply to: Cornelius Clay Ferreira [MSFT]: "Re: 550 5.7.1 Error"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Date: Wed, 4 Aug 2004 16:55:05 +0100
Hi Cornelius
Thanks for the Reply.
The allow computers that successfully authenticate box is already checked.
This hasn't been changed since last week when email was able to be delivered
successfully.
I have already checked DNS, but double checked and the MX Records are
correct - pointing to the correct IP Address
Regards
Fred
"Cornelius Clay Ferreira [MSFT]" <corncf@online.microsoft.com> wrote in
message news:uDrPV2ieEHA.2544@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Hi,
> NDRs that contain an 5.7.1 error code can occur if the "allow computers
> which successfully authenticate to relay" check box is not selected on the
> Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) virtual server (to locate this check
> box, click the SMTP virtual server's Access tab, click Relay).
>
>
> This behavior can also occur if the Domain Name System (DNS) feature is
not
> configured correctly. Ensure that MX records point to the correct SMTP
> virtual server. If DNS is not configured correctly, incoming SMTP
connection
> attempts might randomly connect to the wrong SMTP virtual server.
>
> --
> Cornelius Clay Ferreira
> Microsoft PSS
>
> "Please do not send email directly to this alias. This alias is for
> newsgroup purposes only."
>
> "This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
> rights."
>
>
> "Fred" <hush@dontspamme.com> wrote in message
> news:ufj50vieEHA.732@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> > Hi
> >
> > We run Exchange 2003 on Windows 2003. We have just started getting an
NDR
> > when we send to a company in the States. This was working last week for
> > definite, now it isn't. The NDR reports:
> >
> > You do not have permission to send to this recipient. For assistance,
> > contact your system administrator.
> >
> > <Our ExchangeServer#5.7.1 smtp;550 5.7.1 <Recipient email address>...
> > Relaying denied>
> >
> > I have turned on Message Tracking and Diagnostic Logging for the
> > MSExchangeTransport, and when doing so I get the following entries on
the
> > App Event Log (This is the order they appear in the log):
> >
> >
> >
> > Category Routing Engine/Service Info
> >
> > Event ID 984
> >
> >
> >
> > SMTP GetNextHop returned hr=0x0 in 0ms.
> >
> > DestAddr=<remote domain>, Type=<SMTP>
> >
> > MsgType=0x3, NextHopType=OTHER_ROUTING_GROUP
> >
> > Type=<SMTP>, Class=<*>, SchedId=0x0
> >
> > RouteAddr=<remote domain>
> >
> > Connector=<d0995d91-593b-4e2a-be83-5d91bd7a23ee>
> >
> >
> >
> > Category Connection Manager Warning
> >
> > Event ID 4000
> >
> >
> >
> > Message delivery to the remote domain '[Internal Exchange Server IP
> > Address]' failed for the following reason: Unable to deliver the message
> > because the destination address was misconfigured as a mail loop.
> >
> >
> >
> > Category Routing Engine/Service Info
> >
> > Event ID 977
> >
> >
> >
> > Following connector fails to connect to its target bridge head.
> > CN=Incoming
> > SW,CN=Connections,CN=LOU,CN=Routing Groups,CN=LOU,CN=Administrative
> > Groups,CN=Our Company Name,CN=Microsoft
> > Exchange,CN=Services,CN=Configuration,DC=Our Domain,DC=com
> >
> >
> >
> > Category SMTP Protocol Error
> >
> > Event ID 7004
> >
> >
> >
> > This is an SMTP protocol error log for virtual server ID 1, connection
#8.
> > The remote host "<remote Destination IP Address>", responded to the SMTP
> > command "rcpt" with "550 5.7.1 <recipient email>... Relaying denied ".
> > The
> > full command sent was "RCPT TO:<recipient email> ". This will probably
> > cause the connection to fail.
> >
> >
> >
> > Category NDR Info
> >
> > Event ID 3027
> >
> >
> >
> > A non-delivery report with a status code of 5.7.1 was generated for
> > recipient rfc822;recipient email(Message-ID
> > 86D5643EF2FAD048B81FC927B704822C122A4D@Our Exchange Server).
> >
> > Causes: This message indicates that the sender was denied access or
> > general
> > access was denied. Solution: Check system privileges and attributes for
> > the
> > contact and retry sending the message.
> >
> >
> >
> > Category Connection Manager Warning
> >
> > Event ID 4007
> >
> >
> >
> > Message delivery to the host <remote Destination IP address>failed while
> > delivering to the remote domain <remote domain name>for the following
> > reason: An SMTP protocol error occurred.
> >
> > The SMTP verb which caused the error is 'RCPT'. The response from the
> > remote server is '550 5.7.1 <recipient IP Address>... Relaying denied'.
> >
> >
> >
> > I have also tried telnetting to the remote server, and when I do I get
the
> > following:
> >
> > 220 XXXX.XXXXX.com ESMTP Sendmail 8.12.8/8.12.5; Wed, 4 Aug 2004
> > 07:13:17 -0400
> >
> > 250 XXXX.XXXXX.com Hello [Our IP Address], pleased to meet you
> >
> > 250 2.1.0 Valid local email address... Sender ok
> >
> > rcpt to:valid remote recipient email address
> >
> > 550 5.7.1 valid remote recipient email address.... Relaying denied. IP
> > name
> > lookup failed [Our IP Address]
> >
> >
> > It would appear from this that our IP Address is blocked somewhere, but
> > all
> > the checks I have carried out on blocklists show that IP address as
clean.
> > I
> > have done the same for both our External SMTP IP Address and our
Broadcast
> > IP Address. Both are clean.
> >
> > Has anyone had this problem before? How do I check for a Mail loop as
> > stated in the Event ID 4000? I have already checked DNS MX Records, and
> > nothing has changed there.
> >
> > I can only assume that somehting has happened to cause our IP Address to
> > become blacklisted, which the remote server has picked up on and is
> > refusing
> > connection. Is this correct? If so, how can I find out which blocklist
has
> > our IP Address on it? I have already checked the following blocklists:
> >
> > CBL, MAPS, NJABL, Openrbl, Senderbase, SORBS and Spamcop.
> >
> > When I check openrbl.org, none of our IP Addresses are listed as
positive,
> > ie not in any of the scanned blocklists, but the remote Server IP
Address
> > is
> > listed under @ISP/blackholes.us.
> > What is the significance of this?
> >
> > Many Thanks
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
>
- Next message: Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]: "Re: Email time off one hour"
- Previous message: Mark Arnold [MVP]: "Re: Disabling Outlook ----"
- In reply to: Cornelius Clay Ferreira [MSFT]: "Re: 550 5.7.1 Error"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Relevant Pages
|